www.vegard.net

Last week, this e-mail was dropped in my inbox. All e-mails are translated from Norwegian by me, name and e-mail address also removed by me:

Subject: nice try

From: Vegard Xxxxxx Vegard.Xxxxxx@xxxxxxxxxxxx.no

Date: 03.11.2005 15:10



but not very legal, is it…?

An interesting mail, I’ve obviously tried something which isn’t legal. Another interesting detail is that the guy shares my first name. I send this reply:

Subject: Re: nice try

To: Vegard Xxxxxx Vegard.Xxxxxx@xxxxxxxxxxxx.no

Date: 03.11.2005 20:21



hmmm? what?



vegard



Vegard Xxxxxx wrote:

but not very legal, is it…?

Later the same day he sends this reply back:

Subject: SV:Re: nice try

From: Vegard Xxxxxx Vegard.Xxxxxx@xxxxxxxxxxxx.no

Date: 03.11.2005 23:40



This is probably you:



From: Vegard Xxxxxx [mailto:vegardxxxxxx@gmail.com]

Sent: 27. October 2005 15:00

To: auto-reg@norid.no; dns-admin@eunetnorge.no

Subject: Deleting a domain



Hi,



I’d like to have my domain www.vegard.xxx deleted immediately. Do I have

to send a form or is this a simple matter since it’s not a .no domain?

I’m using this e-mail address from now on.



Best regards



Vegard Xxxxxx



Didn’t work, of course.

Remembered you from this one: http://66.216.73.130/archives/167/



Hmm?

Vegard

So, basically, what this guy is doing is that he accuses me of being a domain hijacker! The nerve of some people! Based on a single e-mail sent from a gmail account created using his name and an entry I wrote three years ago, he now throws this in my face. The following day, I sent him this e-mail in return:

Subject: Re:SV:Re: nice try

To: Vegard Xxxxxx Vegard.Xxxxxx@xxxxxxxxxxxx.no

Date: 04.11.2005 11:04



Vegard,



The first time someone would accuse me of being a low life domain thief, I had
thought it would be with a little more hard evidence than an e-mail sent from a
gmail account and an entry I wrote almost three years ago. I lease the domain
vegard.net and is happy with that. I have no interest in vegard.xxx — unless
it becomes available of natural reasons.


So, no, this is not me.



Best regards,

Vegard Skjefstad

I haven’t heard anything back from him yet. Please, the next time you decide to throw anything like this at me, try to back it up with something a tad tighter. This is just ridiculous. Thank you.

Maybe the same person who tried to hijack his domain also tried to hijack mine. I don’t know, but I certainly don’t hope so.

4 comments
  1. ju9|| Tuesday November 8th, 200522:58 CET

    Actually all the evidence points towards the low life domain thief being himself, the gmail account was infact created using his name and who else would do that? HMMM??? .. :P

  2. ju9|| Tuesday November 8th, 200523:05 CET

    and I must say Vegard Xxxxxx has made good use of vegard.xxx .. (since sarcasm and its cousin irony sometimes doesn’t translate to well into text; yes, I’m making an attempt at sarcasm)

  3. Vegard Wednesday November 9th, 200518:12 CET

    Vegard Xxxxxx has made good use of vegard.xxx

    I really didn’t feel that I could say that, even if I wanted to. Good thing you said it, then.

  4. ju9|| Thursday November 10th, 200503:52 CET

    Hehe.. It needed saying.. :p

Submit comment

Recently played

Album Art for Quickly Disappearing

Quickly Disappearing

by Matthew Santos

8 hours ago

Album Art for Never Coming Home - 2011 Mix

Never Coming Home - 2011 Mix

by Sting

9 hours ago

Today in...

2010: Nexus One?
2007: Back at the Movies.
2006: Message.
2006: Winter Wonderland.
2005: Wedding.
2004: Port Knocking.